Book Review - Fantasy - General - Mystery & Thriller - YA

These Deadly Prophecies

Rating

Details

AUTHOR: Andrea Tang

GENRE: Fantasy, Mystery

AGE: Young Adult

BLURB:

A teenage sorcerer’s apprentice must solve her boss’s murder in order to prove her innocence in this twisty, magic-infused murder mystery perfect for fans of Knives Out and The Inheritance Games .

Being an apprentice for one of the world’s most famous sorcerers has its challenges; Tabatha Zeng just didn’t think they would include solving crime. But when her boss, the infamous fortuneteller Sorcerer Solomon, predicts his own brutal death—and worse, it comes true—Tabatha finds herself caught in the crosshairs.

The police have their sights set on her and Callum Solomon, her murdered boss’s youngest son. With suspicion swirling around them, the two decide to team up to find the real killer and clear their own names once and for all.

But solving a murder isn’t as easy as it seems, especially when the suspect list is mostly the rich, connected, and magical members of Sorcerer Solomon’s family. And Tabatha can’t quite escape the nagging voice in her head just how much can she really trust Callum Solomon?

Nothing is as it seems in this quick-witted and fantastical murder mystery.


Review

#PenguinTeenPartner

Thank you so much to Penguin Teen for a final copy of this book.

This book was so much fun! It was a murder mystery with magic. There were so many red herrings and different clues — it was one of those reads you get into and just can’t put down! If you liked Truly Devious, Inheritance Games or a Good Girl’s Guide to Murder this is like that but supernatural! Plus, it was written so well, and I love the style of how it was written. Had be 100% engrossed from the first line of the book.

I love the twist that Tang put on what sorcerers are like. It was such an interesting way to view magic, and I loved how prophecies played a part in this book.

Plus, our main character was hilarious. I loved Tabatha, and I was so into finding out what happened!

This book had such vibes, and it was SO much fun to read. I cannot express the fact that I laughed several times during this book.

I don’t want to give too much away, but just know this book took me on an unexpected ride!

Highly recommend this book to people who like supernatural murder mysteries!

One comment on “These Deadly Prophecies

Leave a Reply